Abuja Municipal Local Government Area



New Service Chiefs And National Security Adviser Appointed By President Buhari


NairaWall - July 13, 2015, 4:09 pm - submitted in Politics - 389 view(s)

Pres. Buhari appoints new Service Chiefs and NSA. He has approved the following appointments;

1. Major-General Abayomi Gabriel Olonishakin - Chief of Defence Staff;
2. Major-General T.Y. Buratai - Chief of Army Staff
3. Rear Admiral Ibok-Ete Ekwe Ibas - Chief of Naval Staff
4. Air Vice Marshal Sadique Abubakar - Chief of Air Staff
5. Air Vice Marshal Monday Riku Morgan - Chief of Defence Intelligence
6. Major-General Babagana Monguno (rtd.) - National Security Adviser

The new Chief of Defence Staff, Maj.-Gen. Olonishakin (N/6901) hails from Ekiti State. Until his appointment as Chief of Defence Staff today, he was the Head of the Nigerian Army Training and Doctrine Command in Minna, Niger State.

The new Chief of Army Staff, Maj.-Gen. Buratai hails from Borno State. Until his new appointment today, he was the Commander of the Multinational Joint Task Force which has its headquarters in Ndjamena. Maj-Gen. Buratai has previously served as Commander of the Nigerian Army's 2nd Brigade in Port Harcourt and Commander of the Nigerian Army School of Infantry in Jaji, Kaduna State.